Because home is the center of the universe

This is the first home I am showcasing on this blog (not exactly a home tour, but yes, close to one) and I am so happy I get to start this off with my dear friend and neighbour, Srila.

Srila’s home is as vivacious as her.  She’s put it together delectably with things from her travels near and far. It reflects her taste for pretty things; it is stylish yet relaxed and warm.

She has chosen neo-classical style furniture for her living room and the master bedroom, and a more modern nuance for her son’s room and the guest room. The furniture is mostly wooden and some walls highlighted in bright mustard hues.

Srila says ‘I like artefacts which are traditional, ethnic or rural (brass and copper)… or glass like murano. It could be from any part of the world and not necessarily Indian. Wherever I travel I pick up pieces people use in their daily lives. For example pots, pans, kettle, spoons, jars, even objects of worship, knives, cutters etc., Whatever I do, I hate clutter so I never put too many pieces of decor on display at a time. Very often I rotate the pieces because I feel change brings about positivity at home.’

Srila is a big art aficionado. She and her sister recently started an online venture called Lila Art Gallery that sells water-color, acryclic, mixed-media, patachitra paintings and more.

 Here’s to lovely nooks, orderly spaces and eclectic things – and the center of Srila’s universe – her home!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

6 responses to “Because home is the center of the universe

Leave a Reply

