Brass talks and a love of antiques

My mother-in-law has some beautiful brass wares – lamps, uralis, cookware, serve ware; some ethnic-classy, others simple and utilitarian but almost all of them traditional. It’s a love we both share.



I coaxed her to bring these lovely brass dishes she inherited from her grandmother from inside the closet. I love them more because they are at least a 100 years old

These are not used as cook ware anymore. So, I turned it into a planter  and gave it a centre-spot in her home. 

When she and I went antiquing to a antique-flea store, which I chanced upon on my Bangalore trip last month, her love of lamps surfaced to the shore in big waves.

A lamp by the door which we picked up
 
 
She also has a love for brass figurines of which am not a big fan but I like that they are put to good utility here as bookends
The glow of brass in combination with the wood and the sumptuous food cooked with love make this corner of her home warm and comforting
Leave a Reply

